• Derek Harwood-Nash International Fellowship

    • Recognizing that there are instances when the educational needs of an international institution are best served by having an individual faculty member study at a North American institution, the RSNA Committee on International Radiology Education (CIRE), established the RSNA Derek Harwood-Nash International Fellowship.

      • Eligibility criteria: Interested candidates must be promising international radiology scholars who have completed their radiology training, are embarking on a career in academic radiology (i.e. have held a faculty position for 3 to 10 years), and who demonstrate that their specific educational goals can be met most appropriately by a course of study in a North American institution. Qualified candidates must also specify how the knowledge and experience gained from this fellowship will benefit and improve the practice of radiology in both the home institution and the radiological community. Proficiency in English is required.

        The CIRE has developed a roster of appropriate host academic centers in North America where fellows may observe procedures and participate in conferences relating to their areas of special interest.

        All travel and living arrangements must be made directly by the fellow and the host academic center. The RSNA will provide a stipend to cover travel and modest living expenses for a 6- to 12-week period, and education materials. In addition, each fellow will receive a 1-year complimentary subscription to the RSNA journals Radiology andRadioGraphics, on return to his or her home country.

      Download Application Form 

      The application deadline for the 2015 program is July 1, 2014. 

      I am grateful for the valuable experience, which the award of the Derek Harwood Nash fellowship has afforded. This scholarship will no doubt continue to be valuable in the development of radiology in the developing world. 

      - Dr. Peter Johnson, 2011 DHN participant 

      The Derek Harwood Nash Fellowship program is laudable, and I want to thank the RSNA for the opportunity to participate in the program. This program will greatly benefit practice, teaching and development of academic radiology in the developing countries 

      - Dr. Bello T. O., 2010 DHN participant 


      Derek Harwood-Nash International Fellowship Program History

    • Year  Country  Year  Country 
      2014 Sri Lanka, Kenya, Malaysia    
      2013 El Salvador, Venezuela, South Africa 2005 Pakistan and China
      2012 Bhutan and Chile 2004 Nepal and Romania
      2011 Jamaica and Egypt 2003 Georgia
      2010 Iraq and Nigeria 2002 Nigeria
      2009 Turkey and Brazil 2001 Egypt
      2008 Nigeria and India 2000 Nigeria
      2007 Nigeria and South Africa 1999 Ethiopia
      2006 India and Russia 1998 Kenya


    2014 RSNA Derek Harwood-Nash Fellows

    Dr. Aruna Pallewatte of Sri Lanka, Dr. Callen Onyambu of Kenya and Dr. Radhika Sridharan of Malaysia were appointed as the 2014 RSNA Derek Harwood-Nash International Fellows. This year's participants will participate in fellowships at three different institutions. Dr. Pallewatte will be at Mount Sinai School of Medicine, Dr. Onyambu will be at the University of Maryland Medical Center, and Dr. Sridharan will be at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center.

    2013 RSNA Derek Harwood-Nash Fellows

    Dr. Celeste Amabel Garcia de Rodriguez of El Salvador, Dr. Nicolas Maza Tousaint of Venezuela, and Dr. Nasreen Mahomed of South Africa were appointed as the 2013 RSNA Derek Harwood-Nash International Fellows. Dr. Garcia de Rodriguez completed her fellowship at Brigham & Women's Hospital in Boston, Massachusetts, Dr. Maza Tousaint completed his fellowship at the University of California San Diego (UCSD), and Dr. Mahomed completed her fellowship at Children’s Hospital in Boston, Massachusetts. 

    Aruna Pallewatte, MBBS, MD, FRCR, Sri Lanka
    Callen Onyambu, MBChB, Mmed, Kenya
    Radhika Sridharan, MBBS, FRCR, Mmed, RAD, Malaysia
    Celeste Amabel García de Rodríguez, MD, El Salvador
    Nicolas Maza Tousaint, MD, Venezuela
    Nasreen Mahomed, MBBCH, South Africa